Saturday, June 10, 2017

Girl on the Verge, by Pintip Dunn - BLOG TOUR!

Hey, all! 

I just finished reading an ARC of Girl on the Verge, by Pintip Dunn! Thank you so much to both Pintip and Kensington Books for sending me an early copy! 

I'm participating in Xpresso Books's blog tour for this novel! I know I'm late, and I'm super sorry! But you can always blame exams for that ^^ 






Girl on the Verge
by Pintip Dunn
Published by: Kensington
Publication date: June 27th 2017
Genres: Thriller, Young Adult

Synopsis:
From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.
In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.
When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…


Review: 

Girl on the Verge in an upcoming contemporary by Pintip Dunn. I have been so lucky to be able to read so many of her ARCs! This one was as strange as it was compelling, but, as most of her books, became difficult to put down. 

In this novel, there are two central characters - you have Kan, who is Thai but grew up in the US. She doesn't feel at home anywhere and just manages to find a way to fit in at high school when she meets Shelly. Shelly comes from another town, and has one goal: to be accepted and to have friends despite her scar. At first, Kan does her best to be welcoming to Shelly despite her strange quirks... until things start becoming stranger and stranger. 

I had a few problems with this book, but a reading guide in the back of the book made me realized that the problems I felt were meant to be there, and were carefully planned. At first, I was slightly put off by the incredibly insta-love between Kan and a guy called Ethan. I was also somewhat terrified of Shelly. However, reading the reading guide made me understand these factors in a different sense. I only wish they were maybe explained a bit more in the book itself - it would have made for a deeper, more thorough read. 

Strange book quirks aside, I really enjoyed this book! As you probably know if you've been following me for a while, I adore short chapters, that make a million-page book go by quickly, simply because the action and intrigue never take a break. This book was exactly like that! With every turn of the page, there was a new reason to be curious about the story, with answers only being revealed at the end. This is the structure I love! 

What I love about Dunn's books is that you never really know what to expect - the blurb makes the book seem one way, but the only way to really know what it's about is to open it and see for yourself, because the stories she creates are so incredibly unique and different than anything out there! If you want a different YA contemporary, that isn't about health issues, focused on love or about 'everyday issues', pick up one of Pintip's books. I also have a review for The Darkest Lie, if you're interested, click here!

I'm going to end my review here to keep from spoiling the book! I'm giving this a 3.5/5 feathers!


Girl on the Verge will be hitting shelves June 27th! 




AUTHOR BIO:
Pintip Dunn is a New York Times bestselling author of YA fiction. She graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the YALE LAW JOURNAL.

Pintip is represented by literary agent Beth Miller of Writers House. Her debut novel, FORGET TOMORROW, won the RWA RITA® for Best First Book. Her other novels include THE DARKEST LIE, REMEMBER YESTERDAY, and the novella BEFORE TOMORROW.

She lives with her husband and children in Maryland. You can learn more about Pintip and her books at www.pintipdunn.com




Author links:

I've had the chance of talking with her several times, she's always super responsive! Make sure to follow her on instagram too! 




Have a great day, lovelies! 
Stay bookish! 


No comments:

Post a Comment

Hey guys! I hope you enjoyed this post!
Any and all comments make me smile, and I will reply to all of them!
I can reply in English, French, and sometimes in Dutch and German.
Have an absolutely fabulous day! <3